Booted off AdSense

21 05 2005

google_sm.gifThis is one of those things that you hear happening to others, from time to time, but somehow you think it will never happen to you, because you’re too small to be seen on anyone’s radar and after all you’re not doing anything against the rules.

And then one day you receive a mail:

Subject: Google AdSense Account Disabled

It has come to our attention that invalid clicks have been generated on
the ads on your web pages. We have therefore disabled your Google
AdSense account. Please understand that this step was taken in an
effort to protect the interest of the AdWords advertisers.

[…] Publishers disabled for invalid click activity are not allowed further participation in AdSense and do not receive any further payment. The earnings on your account will be properly returned to the affected advertisers.

Sincerely,

The Google AdSense Team

OK, so I might have been careless, having clicked once or twice an ad, only because it was truly interesting, without even realizing I was on my own site. But I noticed that it was counted as one click with a value of $0.00 in my AdSense reports, so I figured it was no big deal.

I can’t imagine that because of this I’m being deprived, not just of all my past earnings (I was waiting for the first check from Google this month) which don’t amount to much, but also of all my possible future earnings.

I immediately emailed them asking for reconsideration, but I did some research and couldn’t find anyone whose account was reinstated after having been disabled.

At least, I can say that I am in good company, together with bloggers much more popular than me, like Erik Thauvin and Derek Powazek.

I have more to say about this, but not now. Expect some more posts from me in the coming days.

Actions

Information

3 responses

23 05 2005
Diarizing » Don’t click the ads on this site!

[…] 2005 09:44 am
Don’t click the ads on this site!

After i read what happened to Ugo, i’m a bit worried now.What if tomorrow i find the same email in my mailbox? Ok, it wo […]

12 08 2005
Venkat Koduru

The same exact thing happened to me just today. 😦 I made a post about it on my blog – http://venkatkoduru.gamerzparadise.biz/?p=91

29 11 2005
Agylen » Joel on AdSense gets it (partly) wrong

[…] Apart from this minor point, Joel’s analysis is correct. And worrysome for advertisers, small publishers and Google alike. I can attest that Google takes click fraud very seriously, to the point that sometimes their net catches some innocent bystanders, together with the fraudulent clickers. But this might indeed be an unsolvable problem, in general. […]

Leave a Reply

