The Mirra Chair

7 06 2005

P_MIR_L038.jpg

Alright, now that I’ve settled on the iMac for my desktop system, it’s time to think about the furniture of my new home office. Priority #1: The chair. As I was in Milan this afternoon and had a couple of hours to spend, I looked up the address of the local Herman Miller dealer and payed them a visit.

By the way, I hope to help them with their ridiculous Google ranking (which is to be expected, given a Flash-only website, what nonsense!) by giving them a link. Will I get a bigger discount after this? I don’t think so, but it’s worth trying ;).

Amenities aside, I did a brief test of the Aeron and Mirra chairs and what can I say? I’m hooked! I don’t want anything else now. I will probably buy a Mirra, especially after having read this review at Pixelsurgeon. Compared to the Aeron, if offers less choices of size and finish, but is much cheaper and equally comfortable.

I also learned that Herman Miller manufactures a number of very nice furniture pieces, so I’m going to peruse the catalogs a bit and then ask the dealer for an offer for the furnishing of the whole office, hoping to get more favorable terms this way.

Actions

Information

6 responses

8 06 2005
Anton Tagunov

You’ve got me interested. Found who sells ’em in Moscow – darn – no price on their site – called – well 1’100 – 1’300 euro – not really a price for me – it’s a pity I can’t justify spending _that_ much especially knowning that 90% of time I spend at work in the office not at home… How much do they cost in Italy?

8 06 2005
ugo

The Mirra starts at about 700 euros (list price, plus VAT) and more if you add options. Given how things tend to work here, I would expect to have a discount comparable to the VAT (20%) or more.

The Aeron starts from more than 1000 euros and can go to much more than that as it has many more options available.

16 06 2005
Agylen » Career move

[…] s that I’ll be mainly working from home — that’s why I’m searching new furniture and a new desktop computer — with frequent travels to Rome. I’ve never w […]

21 06 2005
Agylen » Furniture

[…] t/prodotti/images_contenitori/immagini/20050308100747gra.jpg” title=”Click to enlarge”>After the chair, today I’ve also probably found a cupboard and a table for my new home office […]

29 07 2005
Agylen » Home office refurnishing project: Phase 1 completed

[…] k this)
 

My new Herman Miller Mirra chair has arrived! I still have to tweak its many knobs until it fits perfectly […]

29 12 2005
Amy

Have you really tried the Aeron Chair, though? The online reviews I read mostly said it was better.

We wrote about the Aeron Chair on our blog – take a look if you want to.

Happy sitting,

Amy (& Drew)

http://achairfantastic.blogspot.com/2005/12/herman-miller-aeron-chair.html

Leave a Reply

