NetNewsWire and mandatory Newsgator subscription

26 04 2006

netnewswireIconlarge.pngI just upgraded to the latest beta of NetNewsWire 2.1 from 2.0 since it’s a universal binary and was thinking it would be much faster on my MacBook Pro, but I had an unpleasant surprise when running it for the first time, as a pop-up box appeared telling me that “A NewsGator account is required to activate your product.”.

Huh, excuse me? I bought NetNewsWire and MarsEdit when Ranchero was still an independent company and I would gladly pay for them again in case my license doesn’t cover the upgrade from 2.0 to 2.1, but giving my full name and address to another company without even an explanation of what that’s for and, what’s more, accepting their terms of service? You got to be kidding!

OK, I will probably comply, since I basically trust Brent and will probably find the syncing feature useful, but other people might not be so trustful. How about adding an explanation before the final release?

And wouldn’t it really be possible to opt-out?

Technorati Tags: , , , , .

Actions

Information

2 responses

26 04 2006
Yusuf Goolamabbas

Hey, I’m not sure if you’ve heard the news that NewsGator purchased Ranchero a while ago and registered users of NNW got 2 free years of NetNewsGator

http://www.newsgator.com/NetNewsWire.aspx

26 04 2006
ugo

Yes, I’ve heard. Personally I don’t feel much need for a Newsgator subscription, but precisely because I know about the situation, I’m not surprised. Other people might be, however.

Leave a Reply

