AMS -> MSP -> PDX, A Photoset on Flickr

23 07 2006

GreenlandI managed to snap some good shots on my trip to Portland and am just now uploading them to Flickr. It’s 5 o’clock in the morning here, but due to jet lag I cannot sleep anymore, so I’m abusing of the free Internet connection offered by the hotel.

I guess having so many free hotspots in the city encourages hotels to offer free Internet service. This way people will maybe stay in the hotel and consume some drinks instead of going out to find the nearest free hotspot. I always thought that having guests pay for Internet at hotels is a total rip-off, given the costs of a wide-band DSL connection nowadays in most of the civilized world.

Anyway, you might want to have a look at this photoset. All the photos are from the AMS-MSP leg, since I managed to get some sleep on the MSP-PDX one, but the scenery must have been spectacular as well. We got a great view of Mt. Hood on approach to PDX, but the flight assistant had already asked that all electronic equipment be shut off and I didn’t want to risk being reprimanded. Maybe I’ll get some shots of this part of the voyage on the way back.

It’s almost sunrise now, so I think I’ll bide my time a little more, then see if I can get some breakfast and head out for a tour of Portland in the early morning, when the sun is not that hot yet. Forecast for today is a respectable 98F (about 37C), whew!

I’ll get some more pictures today and possibly more this evening, together with the other OSCON folks at the Sunday Photography Walkabout.

Technorati Tags: , , , , , , , .

Actions

Information

One response

23 07 2006
Tony

Hey, next time you’re coming through MSP let me know! 🙂 I live very close to the airport.

Tony

Leave a Reply

