No joy with camping on JRuby

11 09 2006

camping.pngWednesday I’m flying to London, where I’ll be speaking at the European Rails conference. I’ll be presenting on the same subject I did at OSCON: Ruby for Java Programmers.

At OSCON I demoed installing and running Rails on JRuby during the second half of the talk, but for EuroRails I’m trying to think of something different, mostly because I don’t want to steal the scene from Charles, who will be demoing exactly that. My backup plan involves demoing an installation of camping, following Ola Bini’s tutorial.

I’m not sure it’s a good idea to talk at a Rails conference about something else than Rails. In any case, I’m not even sure I can make it, since I cannot even get camping to install using either JRuby 0.9.0 or the latest code from svn:

Bulk updating Gem source index for: http://gems.rubyforge.org
ERROR:  While executing gem ... (NoMethodError)
    undefined method `rubygems_version' for 0.9.7:Gem::Version

I’ve opened a new issue about this, but I doubt it’ll get fixed by tomorrow. So I probably need to find a backup plan to my backup plan.

Actions

Information

3 responses

12 09 2006
Charles Oliver Nutter

I believe others have gotten back to you about this, but this does not appear to be an issue in JRuby. It appears to happen for C Ruby users as well, although quite a bit less frequently.

In any case, if you download the gems and install them locally, you will have no issues. The problems only appear to come up when doing a remote install. It’s been raised in priority, so we’ll either find a way to fix it on our end…or submit a patch to Ruby or RubyGems that fixes it there.

12 09 2006
Ola Bini

Hi Ugo!

As Charles said, this seems to be a strange combination between interpreter and RubyGems-lib. We are planning to take it up with Jim Weirich, and there seems to be some gems that won’t install in regular Ruby at all because of this (RMagick for example, have this in their install docs).

I hope you won’t cancel that demonstration for this issue, it would be fun to see.

Have you seen _why’s reaction to JRuby Camping?
http://redhanded.hobix.com/inspect/campingGetsAllJavayPlacingItAtTheVeryEpicenterOfHate.html

12 09 2006
ugo

I finally managed to install camping, so I think I will try to fit somethign about camping in my demo.

Leave a Reply

