The Open Source Search Engine

24 10 2006

google_coop_xsm.gifEureka! Your own search engine has landed!: “Wouldn’t it be cool if you could easily build a search engine on your blog or website tailored to the topics and areas you know and love the most? You’re not alone if you’d like that — we’ve heard from partners large and small, and users across the web who want access to the Google search platform, and want to customize and make it their own.”

Now, this is fucking cool (yes, I dropped the F-bomb too, Tim)! I’ve been wanting this for ages, mostly to build a search engine for all matters Open Source to go with The Open Source Zone. Now in just about five minutes I was able to set up a very basic search engine and prime it with just a handful of sites. I will be adding more sites in the future, but right now all visitors can have a look here (what’s up with that hideous URL? Can’t we have a simpler one?) and click on the Volunteer to contribute to this search engine link to add more sites to include in the search (you need a Google account for this though; is this part of Google’s evil plan to collect all of our lives online? 😉 )

Next step will be integrating the custom search site into The Open Source Zone (which badly needs reviving, I know), maybe using the Ajax API.

Picture courtesy of Ted Leung.

Technorati Tags:
,

Actions

Information

2 responses

1 11 2006
Emil Stringer

I just surfed in here from the 43 Best Blogs page, and I’m glad I did. I didn’t know you could do something like this – very cool.

6 11 2006
Ken Krugler

Hi Ugo,

From the photo (is Ted everywhere?) it looks like you were at ApacheCon in Austin 🙂

I wished I’d known that, as I was there too, and had a lot of things I’d love to discuss. Like Cocoon switching to Maven2, the Google co-op, The Open Source Zone and a Krugle mash-up.

I’d seen your blog about our announcement at DEMO (let’s see if this uses [http://agylen.com/2006/02/20/krugle/] syntax) but never followed up – my bad.

Leave a Reply

